Atlantic 10 Conference Official Athletic Site

Annual Atlantic 10 Postgraduate Scholarships Awarded to 14 Conference Student-Athletes

Release: 05/18/2017
Courtesy: Associated Press

NEWPORT NEWS, Va.— The Atlantic 10 Conference announced Wednesday its A-10 Postgraduate Scholarship recipients for 2017. A graduating student-athlete from each of the league's 14 members will receive the prestigious award.

All 14 honorees will receive $5,000 to contribute towards full-time enrollment in a postgraduate or professional program. Designed to provide graduating student-athletes the opportunity to continue their education, the program awards $70,000 in scholarship funding to former A-10 student-athletes. This marks the third straight year the Atlantic 10 has provided the scholarships to 14 individuals, and over the past six years, the A-10's Postgraduate Scholarship program has awarded over $250,000 to 64 former student-athletes.

“Congratulations to each of these deserving young men and women,” stated Atlantic 10 Commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade. “The opportunity to provide for advanced education for this exemplary group is a part of the commitment our member institutions make toward the academic success of their student-athletes. This is a prestigious honor and we wish each of the honorees continued success with their postgraduate education.”

The selection process, which involves the league's athletic directors, senior woman administrators and faculty athletic representatives, resulted in a class with an average GPA of 3.71. The class is comprised of 10 female student-athletes and four males, representing six different sports.


2017 Postgraduate Scholarship Honorees




Undergraduate Major

Elise Lankiewicz


Swimming & Diving


Hunter Johnston


Cross Country

Mechanical Engineering

Sammy Kline



Biology/Health Science

Turner Block




Michelle Wallerstedt

George Mason

Track & Field

Integrative Studies - Pre-Physical Therapy

Brooke Bean

George Washington


Journalism & Mass Communication

Christina Bascara

La Salle



Kelsey Crawford


Track & Field


Alexander McGrainer

Rhode Island

Cross Country/Track & Field

Business Administration (Marketing)

Hannah Matheson


Swimming & Diving


Allison Field

 St. Bonaventure

Cross Country/Track & Field


Jack Magee

Saint Joseph's

Cross Country/Track & Field

Finance & Financial Planning

Kacey Bright

Saint Louis


Exercise Science

Brooks Vial



Science (Health Sciences concentration)


In each of the last three years, the average GPA of the honorees for the Postgraduate Scholarship Program has been 3.70 or higher. The program, which began honoring two student-athletes in 1991, has been so successful and well-received by both the recipients and the A-10 member institutions that it has expanded several times. The most recent expansion, which was adopted in January, 2015 and implemented that spring, now includes one representative from each A-10 school. 

To be considered for the Postgraduate Scholarship, student-athletes must have performed with distinction both in the classroom and in their respective sports throughout their career, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community. The postgraduate program expanded to four recipients in 1997 and then to 10 in 2014.

The Postgraduate Scholarship Program is part of the conference's broad-based commitment to student-athlete opportunities and academics. The conference consistently ranks at the top amongst all Division I Conferences in both Graduation Success Rate (GSR) and the Academic Progress Rate (APR) data released by the NCAA.


To remove your e-mail address from our mailing list, please click on Customer Care and select Remove From Mailing List from the Area of Interest list and specify your e-mail address. Note: This does not apply to opt-in e-mail. To modify your opt-in e-mail deliveries, log in to the site and modify your preferences. Customer Care