Ticket Galaxy

A-10 Announces 2013 Men's Soccer All-Conference Awards

Release: 11/13/2013
Print RSS
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – La Salle midfielder Jason Plumhoff was named the 2013 Atlantic 10 Conference Men’s Soccer Offensive Player of the Year, while Saint Louis’ Anthony Manning and Alex Sweetin were tabbed the league’s Defensive and Midfielder of the Year, respectively, in voting conducted among the Conference’s 13 head coaches.

In the same vote, George Mason’s Steffen Kraus was honored as Rookie of the Year and Mike McGinty of Saint Louis was selected as Coach of the Year by his peers.

Plumhoff concluded the regular season as the A-10’s lead in points (29), goals (10) and tied for the league lead in assists with nine.  Four of Plumhoff’s goals were of the game-winning variety as he tied for tops in the Conference in that category as well. The senior from Ellicott City, Md., registered 17 points in league play with six goals and five assists, helping La Salle to a tie for third place in the regular season standings. 

A native of Mesquite, Texas, Manning anchored a backline for Saint Louis that enters the A-10 Championship with a 0.90 goal against average.  Manning and his SLU teammates have surrendered just 18 goals in their 17 games and allowed just six goals in eight A-10 matches.

Sweetin in currently tied for third in the Atlantic 10 with 21 points on the season. The senior from Overland Park, Kan., has tallied seven goals and seven assists on the season.  His goals are tied for fifth most in the league, while his assists total is third. 

Krauss had an outstanding first season in net for George Mason. The freshman from Stuttgart, Germany surrendered just 11 goals in over 1,500 minutes of action, leading to an A-10 best 0.65 goals against average for the regular season. Against the A-10, Krauss lowered that to a 0.57 GAA and posted three shutouts. 

McGinty collects his second consecutive Coach of the Year honors after leading Saint Louis to a 12-4-2 overall record and a 6-0-2 mark in A-10 play which earned the Billikens the top-seed in this week Championship. 

The 2013 A-10 Championship starts Thursday with four quarterfinal contests from Baujan Field on the campus of the University of Dayton.  Second-seeded Mason will face seventh seed SJU at 11:00 a.m., followed by No. 3 VCU and the sixth seeded Dukes at 2:00 p.m.  Top-seed Saint Louis will face UMass at 5:00 p.m., while the fourth seed La Salle and the host Flyers will square off in the nightcap at 8:00 p.m.

It's On Us