Dec. 12, 2012


NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – Atlantic 10 men’s soccer teams dominated the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Division I Men All-Mid-Atlantic Region team, claiming 24 of the 33 spots across the three teams.

Charlotte had a league-leading five All-Region selections on the three teams, followed by VCU (4), La Salle (3), Saint Louis (3), Xavier (3), Duquesne (2), Temple (2), Fordham (1) and Butler (1).

Tyler Gibson, Charlotte
Donnie Smith, Charlotte
Giuseppe Gentile, Charlotte
John McCarthy, La Salle
Anthony Manning, Saint Louis
Robbie Kristo, Saint Louis
Jason Johnson, VCU
Romena Bowie, VCU
Luke Spencer, Xavier
Nick Hagglund, Xavier

Klayton Davis, Charlotte
Thomas Allen, Charlotte
Adam Clement, Duquesne
Josh Patterson, Duquesne
David Graydon, Saint Louis
Cody Califiore, Temple
Dennis Castillo, VCU
Will Walker, Xavier

Zach Steinberger, Butler
Nathaniel Bekoe, Fordham
Jason Plumhoff, La Salle
Joseph Farrell, La Salle
Billy Kappock, Temple
Juan Monge Solano, VCU

A league record four Atlantic 10 Conference men's soccer teams advanced to the 2012 NCAA Tournament. Saint Louis, winner of the A-10 Championship, earned the Conference's automatic berth, while VCU, Charlotte and Xavier garnered at-large bids. The A-10's four bids tied with the Big Ten for third among the 31 NCAA Division I Conferences. The Big East (8) and ACC (5) are the only two leagues to surpass the Atlantic 10.

In the final NSCAA Coaches Poll, Saint Louis was ranked No. 19, followed by No. 23 Charlotte and No. 25 VCU. Xavier received 79 votes in the poll.