Ticket Galaxy

SLU's Robbie Kristo Named Hermann Trophy Semifinalist

Release: 11/28/2012
Print RSS

Nov. 28, 2012

ST. LOUIS – Saint Louis sophomore forward Robbie Kristo (St. Louis, Mo./Parkway North) is one of 15 semifinalists for the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy, as announced today by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA). The Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual award in intercollegiate soccer.

Kristo led the Billikens in scoring with 27 points (11G, 5A), the most points by a Billiken since Kyle Patterson registered 29 in 2008. A first-team All-Conference selection, Kristo scored five goals in Atlantic 10 Conference play and was named to the A-10 All-Championship team after helping the Billikens to the A-10 Championship title.

Among Kristo’s 11 goals were three game-winners, including the golden goal in double overtime against VCU in the regular season. He had three consecutive games in which he recorded a goal and an assist, and he scored the Bills’ goal against Fairleigh Dickinson in the NCAA Tournament.

Kristo helped the Billikens to a 16-5 record, the most wins by a SLU squad since the 2001 team won 18 games. Saint Louis, which captured the A-10 title after topping La Salle, Xavier and VCU at the A-10 Tournament in Charlotte, N.C., was the No. 8 national seed in the NCAA Tournament.

The Hermann Trophy recipient is selected after a vote of NCAA Division coaches who are NSCAA members. New this year is a fan voting component, conducted through LockerDome, which allows fans to also contribute to picking this year’s MAC Hermann Trophy winner.

The top three vote-getters will be announced Thursday, Dec. 6. The winner will be announced during the MAC Hermann Trophy banquet in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 11, 2013.

SLU has had five Hermann Trophy recipients in its illustrious history. Al Trost won the award in 1969 and 1970, while Mike Seerey earned the Hermann Trophy in 1971 and 1972. Dan Counce made it five years in a row that a Billiken received the Hermann Trophy when he won it in 1973. In addition, Matt McKeon was named the MAC National Player of the Year in 1995. The Hermann Trophy and MAC National Player of the Year awards merged in 2002.

It's On Us