Buy A-10 Gear
Field Hockey mm

Fourteen A-10 Field Hockey Standouts Earn NFHCA Honors

Release: 11/19/2013
Print RSS
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – Fourteen Atlantic 10 Conference student-athletes have been named to the 2013 National Field Hockey Coaches Association’s (NFCA) Division I All-Region Teams.

Reining A-10 Champion Massachusetts placed six members of its squad on the All-Northeast Region Team, while Conference runner-up Richmond had four members named to the All-South Region team.  Lock Haven had a pair of athletes named to the Mideast team, while Saint Francis and La Salle were each represented on the Mid-Atlantic squad. 

The Minutewomen’s Lauren Allymohamed, Hannah Price, Brooke Sabia and Alexa Sikalis were all named to the first-team, while teammates Sam Carlino and Charlotte Verelst garnered second-team honors.  

The Spider’s Rebecca Barry, Amy Cooke and Anna Zarkoski where named First-Team All-South Region, while Chelsea Davies was as second-team choice.

Lock Haven’s Nakira Downes was named to the Mideast Region First-Team and her teammate Elaina White was tabbed second-team.  Carissa Makea and La Salle’s Olivia Shoemaker were both named to the Mid-Atlantic’s Second-Team.

With their first-team selections Allymohamed, Price, Sabia, Saikalis, Barry Cooke, Zarkoski and Downes are now eligible for the NFCA’s All-American teams which will be announced on December 2nd.

It's On Us