Ticket Galaxy

Pasquale, Ashway, Yoos Headline A-10 Softball All-Conference Teams

Release: 05/07/2013
Print RSS

May 7, 2013


NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – Temple junior Stephanie Pasquale has been named the Atlantic 10 Conference Softball Player of the Year, in voting conducted among the league’s head coaches. Senior Taryn Ashway of Saint Joseph’s was honored as the conference’s Pitcher of the Year, while Sarah Yoos of Saint Joseph’s was selected as Rookie of the Year. In the same vote, Terri Adams of Saint Joseph’s was named the league’s Coach of the Year.

Pasquale enters this week’s championship as the league-leader in batting average (.462), hits (80), RBI (74), doubles (20) and total bases (142). Earlier this season, Pasquale was honored as the Louisville Slugger/NFCA Division I Co-Player of the Week after batting .682 (15-for-22) with four multi-hit games, five home runs, four doubles and 21 RBI. The Pompton Lakes, N.J., native becomes only the third Temple player to be named Player of the Year and the first since Adrienne Repsher won the award in 2007.

Ashway set the Saint Joseph’s single-season record for wins this season as she posted a record of 26-3 with an ERA 1.62 over 194.1 innings of work. The senior from Waynesboro, Pa., also added three saves and posted four shutouts this season, with three of them occurring in conference play. Her 172 strikeouts this season also led the A-10 and placed her fifth on the single-season list at Saint Joseph’s. Ashway is the second Saint Joseph’s hurler to earn Pitcher of the Year honors following Bonnie Gaisor (1993).

Pasquale and Ashway are joined on the All-Conference first team by Fordham’s Jamie LaBovick (1B) and Kayla Lombardo (3B); George Washington’s Courtney Martin (P); Katie Bettencourt (OF) and Cyndil Matthew (OF) of Massachusetts; Dana Parks (OF) and Yoos (2B) of Saint Joseph’s; Laura Bohning of Saint Louis (DP) and Temple’s Sarah Prezioso (SS).

The All-Conference second team consists of Butler’s Jenny Esparza (P); Charlotte’s Briana Gwaltney (OF) and Samantha Slade (2B); Dayton’s Kayla English (P) and Tiffany Ricks (DP); Fordham’s Elise Fortier (SS) and Gabby Luety (C); George Washington’s Autumn Taylor (OF); Tiffany Meeks (1B) of Massachusetts; Monica Aguilar of Saint Joseph’s and Temple’s Ali Robinson (OF).

Yoos tied for the Saint Joseph’s team lead in RBI (31) and runs scored (29). The Warrington, Pa., native batted .361 on the season while leading the team in slugging percentage (.537) and on-base percentage (.514). Yoos struck out only four times this season for the Hawks. Yoos is the second Hawk to win the Rookie of the Year award following teammate Monica Aguilar, who won the award in 2009.

Joining Yoos on the All-Rookie team is Butler’s Kristen Gutierrez; Charlotte’s Jessica Plemmons; Dayton’s Emily Froment; George Washington’s Carlee Gray and Meghan Rico; La Salle’s Kendra Heyer; Taylor Carbone of Massachusetts; Laney Kneib and Brianna Lore of Saint Louis and Temple’s Kelsey Dominik and Annie Marcopolus.

The Academic All-Conference team consisting of 10 student-athletes with a grade-point average of 3.0 or higher (on a 4.0 scale) consists of Charlotte’s Chelsea Ingersoll; Dayton’s Kathleen Maloof; Fordham’s Michele Daubman; George Washington’s Chelsea Lenhart, Courtney Martin and Amanda Zakeri; Cyndil Matthew of Massachusetts; Rhode Island’s Kelly Coker and Jocelyn Mattison and Dana Parks of Saint Joseph’s.

After leading the Hawks to a record of 17-5 in the Atlantic 10 and the number one overall seed in this week’s A-10 Softball Championship, Saint Joseph’s Adams was selected as the Coach of the Year. This marks the first A-10 Coach of the Year award for both Adams and the Saint Joseph’s program.

The 2013 Atlantic 10 Softball Championship begins on Wednesday, May 8 on the campus of the University of Massachusetts, with No. 4 seed George Washington (26-21, 13-7 A-10) taking on the No. 5 seed Saint Louis Billikens (26-21, 13-9 A-10) at 12:00 pm. They will be followed by No. 3 seed Temple (30-24, 15-7 A-10) taking on No. 6 Dayton (22-22, 12-9 A-10) at 2:30 pm. Top-seeded Saint Joseph’s will take on the winner of the George Washington/Saint Louis, May 9 at 12:00 pm, while No. 2 Fordham opens against the Temple/Dayton winner at 2:30 pm.

The entire A-10 Softball Championship, May 8-11, can be viewed live and free of charge via webstream on

For complete coverage of the 2013 Atlantic 10 Softball Championship, please visit

It's On Us