April 11, 2013

ST. LOUIS – Jim Crews has been named the UPS Division I National Coach of the Year, as announced Sunday by the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

Crews received the honor from last year’s winner, Tom Izzo of Michigan State, at the AT&T NABC Guardians of the Game awards show Sunday night in Atlanta.

It is the second major National Coach of the Year accolade for Crews, who previously was named the Sporting News National Coach of the Year. Crews also was a finalist for the Naismith and Jim Phelan Awards and was named the Atlantic 10 Conference Coach of the Year.

Crews led the 2012-13 Billikens to a school-record 28 victories, A-10 regular-season and tournament crowns and their second straight NCAA Tournament bid. SLU’s regular-season conference title was its first outright crown since 1957.