Ticket Galaxy

Jim Crews a Finalist for USBWA Coach of the Year Award

Release: 02/27/2014
Print RSS
Courtesy: Saint Louis
ST. LOUIS – Saint Louis head men’s basketball coach Jim Crews is one of 10 finalists for the Henry Iba National Coach of the Year Award, which is presented annually by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

Crews has led the Billikens to a 25-2 overall record and a 12-0 mark in Atlantic 10 Conference play. Saint Louis, which hosts Duquesne tonight, is riding a 19-game winning streak.

Crews collected a pair of National Coach of the Year awards last season – one from the Sporting News and the other from the NABC.

In two seasons as head coach at Saint Louis, Crews has led the Billikens to a 53-9 record. Earlier this year, he recorded his 400th career victory. In 26 seasons as a head coach, Crews is 407-357.

The 10 coaches placed on the ballot for the Henry Iba Award are: John Beilein, Michigan; Tony Bennett, Virginia; Larry Brown, SMU; Jim Crews, Saint Louis; Mick Cronin, Cincinnati; Billy Donovan, Florida; Steve Fisher, San Diego State; Gregg Marshall, Wichita State; Greg McDermott, Creighton; and Jay Wright, Villanova.

The winner of the Henry Iba Award will be announced Monday, March 24. The winner will be formally presented the award at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on Monday, April 14, at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City.

The Henry Iba Award is named in honor of the legendary Oklahoma State coach who won 655 games and two national championships in 36 seasons in Stillwater. The USBWA has presented a National Coach of the Year Award each year since the 1958-59 season. The University of Miami's Jim Larrañaga was honored with the award last season.

It's On Us