Ticket Galaxy

Saint Joseph's Shields Named An I-AAA Scholar-Athlete

Release: 04/11/2013
Print RSS

April 11, 2013

PHILADELPHIA – Saint Joseph's women's basketball junior Erin Shields (Drexel Hill, Pa./Archbishop Carroll) was selected to the 2013 I-AAA Scholar Athlete Teams by the Division I-AAA Athletic Directors Association, organization officials announced on Thursday. 

Leading the Hawks to the 2013 Atlantic 10 Championship and the program's first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2000, Shields became the first Hawk to be named A-10 Most Improved Player and was named to the All-Conference Third Team. Shields thrived as a starter this year, scoring a career-best 11.4 points per game and converting a career-high 73 three point field goals.

Additionally, the starting guard averaged 2.5 assists and 1.8 rebounds per game. An All-Philly Third Team selection, Shields is just the second Hawk to garner the national award, joining 2006 honoree Faith Schutte.

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials. Nominated student-athletes must have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's games listed on the nomination form. To be eligible for nomination to the Scholar-Athlete Team, she must have reached junior academic standing at their institution (ineligible athletics transfers were not eligible).

Joining Shields on the I-AAA Scholar Athlete Team are Manhattan's Maggie Blair, Iona's Haley D'Angelo, Siena's Lily Grenci; Florida Gulf Coast's Sarah Hansen, UMBC's Raven Harris, IPFW's Amanda Hyde, Creighton's Sarah Nelson, UMKC's Eilise O'Conner and Kacie Sowell of Seattle. Hyde was selected Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

It's On Us