Ticket Galaxy

Dayton's Jim Jabir Named Naismith Coach of the Year Finalist

Release: 03/21/2013
Print RSS

March 21, 2013

University of Dayton's Jim Jabir was named one of four finalists for the 2013 Naismith Women's College Coach of the Year Award, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Thursday. He is joined by California's Lindsay Gottlieb, Baylor's Kim Mulkey and Notre Dame's Muffet McGraw. The Naismith Women's College Coach of the Year Award will be announced during the NCAA Women's Final Four in New Orleans.

The four finalists were selected by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's National Voting Academy, which based its criteria on the coaches' performances to this point in the 2013 women's college basketball season.

"It has been another remarkable season for women's basketball and these four finalists deserve the distinction of being called the best coaches in the country," said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. "Whether we have a repeat winner or a first-timer, we look forward to adding another chapter to our award history."

Jabir's Flyers are 27-2 overall this season and have earned their fourth consecutive trip to the NCAA Tournament. The 2013 Atlantic 10 Coach of the Year is having the best season of his career with three in-season tournament championships, plus a perfect 14-0 record in conference play. The 14 league wins is a program record and UD captured its first A-10 regular season championship.

It's On Us