Ticket Galaxy

Atlantic 10 Conference Announces 2014 Basketball Legends

Release: 01/23/2014
Print RSS
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Full Bios on Each Legend Attached

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – The Atlantic 10 Conference announced Thursday its annual Basketball Legends. The 2014 class includes 26 former men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes and coaches who made an immeasurable impact on each A-10 institution and their respective basketball programs.

“It is a pleasure and honor to welcome and congratulate the 2014 Atlantic 10 Conference Legends,” stated Commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade. “They have distinguished themselves as leaders who have contributed greatly to their University and the A-10 in building the foundation of a great basketball tradition.  It is my wish that each of them enjoy this award, as it is an honor well deserved!”

The Women’s Basketball Legends will be recognized with a brunch on Friday, March 7 prior to the A-10 Championship quarterfinals.  The event will take place at the Richmond Marriott beginning at 10:00 a.m.

The Men’s Basketball Legends will be honored on March 15 at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y. prior to the 2014 Men’s Basketball Championship semifinals.  The group will be saluted during a celebration awards brunch in the 40/40 Club, beginning at 10:30 a.m. prior to the A-10 men’s semifinal games.

Each institution selected its two Legends. The group consists of former student-athletes and coaches who played or coached basketball at current A-10 member institutions.

The men’s group includes 13 former student-athletes, nine of which went on to play in the NBA, with two winning World Championships and one Basketball Hall of Fame Inductee (Ed Macauley of Saint Louis). These Legends combined for seven All-American selections, two National Player of the Year awards and includes a pair of players who later returned to their alma maters to serve as head coaches.

The women’s honorees include former student-athletes that led their teams to conference championships, NCAA Tournament selections and WNIT appearances.  The group includes a National Champion head coach, four former professionals, including a pair of WNBA members along with All-Americans, A-10 Players of the Year and a Regional NCAA Woman of the Year honoree.

A limited number of brunch tickets are available to the general public. For more information please contact the Atlantic 10 Conference at 757-706-3041.

2014 Atlantic 10 Basketball Legends

Dr. Maryalyce Jeremiah University of Dayton 1978-80
Candace Futrell Duquesne University 2000-04
Jeanine "JJ" Radice Fordham University 1985-89
Keri Chaconas George Mason University 1992-96
Darlene Saar Graybeal George Washington University 1991-95
Chrissie Donahue Doogan La Salle University 1993-97
Octavia N. Thomas University of Massachusetts 1992-96
Michele D. Washington University of Rhode Island 1982-86
Kate Flavin University of Richmond 2001-05
Dana Mitchell St. Bonaventure University 2006-10
Dale Hodges Saint Joseph's University 1987-90
Shatoya Likely Saint Louis University 1994-98
Kelly Hoover Virginia Commonwealth University 1985-89
Don Donoher University of Dayton 1964-89
Sihugo Green Duquesne University 1954-56
Ed Conlin Fordham University 1951-55
Lamar Butler George Mason University 2001-05
Sonni Holland George Washington University 1989-93
Lionel Simmons La Salle University 1986-90
George Burke University of Massachusetts 1954-56
Carlton Owens University of Rhode Island 1984-88
Bob McCurdy University of Richmond 1973-75
Fred Crawford St. Bonaventure University 1960-64
Tony Costner Saint Joseph's University 1980-84
"Easy" Ed Macauley Saint Louis University 1945-49
Kendrick Warren Virginia Commonwealth University 1990-94
*- Posthumously    


About the A-10
The Atlantic 10 Conference was formed in 1976 and consists of 13 diverse members across seven states and Washington, D.C. The membership consists of University of Dayton, Duquesne University, Fordham University, George Mason University, The George Washington University, La Salle University, the University of Massachusetts, the University of Rhode Island, University of Richmond, St. Bonaventure University, Saint Joseph’s University, Saint Louis University and Virginia Commonwealth University. The mission and goal of the Atlantic 10 is to provide an enhanced student-athlete experience through 21 nationally competitive championship sports, while securing strong brand, equity, and revenue resources for its member institutions. The conference is committed to integrity, educational excellence and providing quality equitable championship experiences for its student-athletes, coaches, and staff.  

It's On Us