Ticket Galaxy

UD & SJU Join Fordham in NCAA Tournament; Four A-10 Teams to WNIT

Release: 03/17/2014
Print RSS
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Newport News, Va. – Dayton, Fordham and Saint Joseph’s will represent the Atlantic 10 Conference in the 2014 NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament as the selections were announced Monday night on ESPN.

Fordham earned the league’s automatic bid on March 9th when it captured its first A-10 Championship.  Dayton and Saint Joseph’s earn at large berths into the 64 team field. 

Fordham will be making its second NCAA Tournament and its first appearance since 1994.  Dayton will appear in the tournament for fifth consecutive year, while SJU is making its second consecutive trip and 13th appearance in school history.  The A-10 has now sent three or more teams to the NCAA Tournament seven times in the last 10 years.

The Rams are the No. 10 seed in the Notre Dame bracket and will travel to Waco, Texas to face Cal at 4:00 p.m., Saturday on ESPN2.

Dayton is seeded sixth in Stanford bracket and will travel to University Park, Pa. where it will face 11th seed Florida at 3:00 p.m. on ESPN.

Saint Joseph’s earned the ninth seed in the Lincoln bracket.  The Hawks will head to Storrs, Conn., where it will face eighth-seeded Georgia at 5:30 p.m. on Sunday on ESPN.

Four A-10 teams will take part in the 2014 WNIT.  Duquesne, George Washington, St. Bonaventure and  VCU were all selected to take part in the 64 team tournament that tips off March 19.  Dates of games, times, opponents and a full bracket are set to be released between 11:00 p.m. and Midnight on Monday.

It's On Us