Ticket Galaxy

La Salle Selected As Preseason Favorites To Win 2011 Men's Cross Country Title

Release: 08/09/2011
Print RSS
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Aug. 9, 2011

NEWPORT NEWS, Va -La Salle Cross Country has been predicted to capture the 2011 Atlantic 10 Men's Championship in voting conducted among the league's head coaches for the second year in a row.

After finishing fifth at the 2010 Atlantic 10 Cross Country Championship, the Explorers narrowly edged out last year's champion Richmond in the polls and will look to win their first title since 2007.

The Spiders graduated all three of their Top 10 finishers, including individual winner Andrew Benford, but are returning 2010 Coach of the Year Steve Taylor to look to defend the school's first ever Cross Country crown.

Last year's host, Duquesne, placed second at the 2010 Championship and is tabbed for a third place finish according to this year's polls. Junior Jim Spisak led the Dukes at the 2010 event as one of only two non-senior Top 10 finishers.

Dayton and Massachusetts round out the top five having been selected in fourth and fifth, respectively, and are followed by Saint Joseph's, Xavier, Charlotte, Temple, Fordham, Saint Louis, George Washington, Rhode Island and St. Bonaventure.

The 2011 A-10 Men and Women's Cross Country Championship will be held Oct. 29 at Frank Liske Park in Charlotte, N.C.

2011 Predicted Order Of Finish (2010 A-10 finish in parentheses)

1) La Salle (5)

2) Richmond (1)

3) Duquesne (2)

4) Dayton (4)

5) Massachusetts (3)

6) Saint Joseph's (7)

7) Xavier (6)

8) Charlotte (10)

9) Temple (8)

10) Fordham (9)

11) Saint Louis (12)

12) George Washington (11)

13) Rhode Island (13)

14) St. Bonaventure (14)


About the A-10
The Atlantic 10 Conference, formed in 1976, is comprised of 14 member institutions and sponsors 21 championship sports. The mission and goal of the Atlantic 10 is to preserve, protect, and enhance the academic and athletic pursuits of the membership. The conference is committed to integrity, educational excellence and providing quality equitable championship experiences for more than 6,000 student-athletes, coaches, and support staff. The member institutions of the Atlantic 10 are the University of Dayton, Duquesne University, Fordham University, The George Washington University, La Salle University, University of Massachusetts, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University of Rhode Island, University of Richmond, St. Bonaventure University, Saint Joseph's University, Saint Louis University, Temple University, and Xavier University.

It's On Us