Ticket Galaxy

Explorers Win 2011 A-10 Women's Cross Country Title

Release: 10/29/2011
Print RSS
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Oct. 29, 2011

2011 Women's XC Results Get Acrobat Reader

Photo Gallery

CONCORD, N.C. - La Salle captured the 2011 Atlantic 10 Cross Country Championship at Frank Liske Park in Concord, N.C. on Saturday outpacing runner-up Dayton, 69-84. It was the Explorers' seventh A-10 title.

Leading the Explorers to their first women's title since 2007, and seventh overall, was senior Caitlin Storbeck, who along with juniors Meghan McGlinchey and Stephanie Bearish all recorded top seven finishes.

This year's Atlantic 10 cross country title was the first for La Salle coach Dan Ireland, who was hired after the sudden passing of long-time coach Charles Torpey from a heart attack back in July. Ireland was named the Atlantic 10 Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year.

The top overall finisher, Richmond's Jill Prentice, recorded the second best championship performance in conference history with her time of 17:13.7. Prentice, who was also one of only two underclassmen to finish in the top 10, finished eight seconds ahead of second place finisher Hilary Orf of Saint Louis.

La Salle's top five scoring individuals placed sixth, seventh, eighth, 12th, and 36th for a combined 69 points. Dayton was second with 84 points followed by Charlotte with 92. Richmond finished in fourth place with 99 points and Saint Joseph's came in fifth with 132 points. Duquesne (144) and Xavier (178) finished sixth and seventh respectively.

Duquesne's Danica Snyder earned the Rookie of the Year award as the top finishing rookie after recording an 18th place finish.

The top 15 overall finishers were named to the All-Conference team. In addition to top finishers Prentice and Orf, the All-Conference team included Charlotte's Amanda Goetschius and Hana Sutchar, Dayton's Elissa Mason and Lizzie Gleason, Massachusetts' Karen Roa, La Salle's Caitlin Storbeck, Meghan McGlinchey, Stephanie Bearish, and Wendy Hutchinson.  Also named to the team were Duquesne's Meg Ecker, Saint Louis' Margo Richardson, Richmond's Stephanie Paradis, and Hannah Fuller of Saint Joseph's.

2011 Atlantic 10 Conference Women's Cross Country Championship Awards

La Salle


Coach of the Year
Dan Ireland, La Salle

Most Outstanding Performer
Jill Prentice, Richmond

Rookie of the Year
Danica Snyder, Duquesne

All-Conference Team
Jill Prentice, Richmond
Hilary Orf, Saint Louis
Amanda Goetschius, Charlotte
Elissa Mason, Dayton
Karen Roa, Massachusetts
Caitlin Storbeck, La Salle
Meghan McGlinchey, La Salle
Stephanie Bearish, La Salle
Meg Ecker, Duquesne
Margo Richardson, Saint Louis
Lizzie Gelason, Dayton
Wendy Hutchinson, La Salle
Stephanie Paradis, Richmond
Hana Sutchar, Charlotte
Hannah Fuller, Saint Joseph's



It's On Us