Ticket Galaxy

La Salle Wins A-10 Men's Cross Country Championship

Release: 10/29/2011
Print RSS
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Oct. 29, 2011

2011MXCChampsResults Get Acrobat Reader

Photo Gallery

CONCORD, N.C.--La Salle men's cross country had three of the top six finishers, including Most Outstanding Performer Alfredo Santana, to capture the 2011 Atlantic 10 Conference Men's Cross Country Championship. The 8K race was run Saturday morning and hosted by Charlotte at Frank Liske Park.

It was the seventh A-10 Championship for La Salle, who scored 39 points, and its first title since 2007. Explorers coach Dan Ireland, who won his first title, was voted Coach of the Year. Ireland was hired as head coach after the passing last summer of longtime coach Charles Torpey. Torpey died suddenly in July from a heart attack and was honored Saturday prior to the start of the championship with a moment of silence.

Santana won the race with a 24:18.0, equaling the 11th best performance in A-10 championship history. Kevin McDonnell of Saint Joseph's placed second at 24:23.6 and Dayton's Greg Roeth was third at 24:28.7. Julian Saad of Fordham (24:36.7) and La Salle's Nick Ross (24:38.9) rounded out the top five.

La Salle's five scoring individuals placed first, fifth, sixth, 13th and 14th for the Explorers' 39-point total. Duquesne was second with 72 points and Saint Joseph's placed third with 74 points. Dayton scored 119 points for fourth place and Massachusetts placed fifth with 127 points. Fordham (147 points) and Richmond (176 points) were sixth and seventh respectively.

Saint Joseph's Paul Szulewski earned Rookie of the Year honors as the top finishing rookie. A freshman, Szulewski placed 18th overall at 25:07.4.

The top 15 finishers were named All-Conference. In addition to Santana, McDonnell, Roeth, Saad and Ross, the All-Conference team was La Salle's Nick Crits, David Hausherr and Luke Arbuckle. Jon Mazzio was Saint Joseph's other All-Conference performer and Sean Duncan and Patrick McGowan from UMass also earned the award. Duquesne's Erik Anderson and Jim Spisak and Xavier's Tom Ohlman and Keith Albrektson were also named All-Conference.


2011 Atlantic 10 Conference Men's Cross Country Championship Awards

La Salle


Coach of the Year
Dan Ireland, La Salle

Most Outstanding Performer
Alfredo Santana, La Salle

Rookie of the Year
Paul Szulewski, Saint Joseph's

All-Conference Team
Alfredo Santana, La Salle
Kevin McDonnell, Saint Joseph's
Greg Roeth, Dayton
Julian Saad, Fordham
Nick Ross, La Salle
Nick Crits, La Salle
Jon Mazzio, Saint Joseph's
Sean Duncan, Massachusetts
Erik Anderson, Duquesne
Tom Ohlman, Xavier
Jim Spisak, Duquesne
Patrick McGowan, Massachusetts
David Hausherr, La Salle
Luke Arbuckle, La Salle
Keith Albrekston, Xavier

It's On Us