Ticket Galaxy

Seeds Set for 2013 Men's Tennis Championship

Release: 04/23/2013
Print RSS

April 23, 2013

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – Playing for a chance at its first Atlantic 10 Men’s Tennis title, the VCU Rams have earned the top seed in the 35th annual Atlantic 10 Conference Men’s Tennis Championship, to be held April 25-28 at the Lindner Family Tennis Center in Mason, Ohio.

The Rams finished the season 17-6 and look to take home their second straight conference title, 17th overall under head coach Paul Kostin. For the first time in four years, the Rams landed in the Intercollegiate Tennis Association’s (ITA) team Top 25, ranking as high as No. 24 this spring, after a 4-0 win over Virginia Tech. In the final week of the season, the Rams battled reigning champion, George Washington, 4-2, to clinch the top seed in this year’s A-10 Championship. VCU awaits the winner of Thursday’s first round match between Saint Joseph’s and Butler.

The George Washington Colonials, 2011 and 2012 A-10 Champions, have earned the second seed in the 2013 Championship, finishing the spring ranked No. 70 (ITA), and landing as high as No. 45. The Colonials head into the A-10 Championship with wins in six out of their last seven and own a 15-6 overall record (4-1 against conference opponents). GW earns a first-round bye and will face the winner of Fordham/Richmond on Friday in the quarterfinals.

The Charlotte 49ers, who faced five nationally-ranked opponents this season, will chase their second A-10 title and NCAA appearance as the third seed in this year’s Championship. The 49ers finished their season on a high note with a 5-2 win against UNC-Greensboro, finishing 12-9 overall.

Rounding out the 14-team field are Xavier (fourth), Duquesne (fifth), Temple (sixth), Richmond (seventh), Saint Joseph’s (eighth), Butler (ninth), Fordham (10th), Saint Louis (11th) St. Bonaventure (12th), Dayton (13th) and La Salle (14th).

Competition begins on Thursday, April 25 at 9:00 am with the final match of the day set to start at 3:00 pm. Top seeds VCU and George Washington earn a bye and will play in Friday’s quarterfinals. The first semifinal match is slated for 10:00 am on Saturday, April 27, while the second semifinal contest is set for 1:00 pm. The championship match will be played on Sunday, April 28 at 10:00 am.

The A-10 Men’s Tennis Championship is a single-elimination event. The winner of the Championship will receive the Conference’s automatic bid to compete in the NCAA Tournament. For more information on the Championship, including match results, recaps and photos, please visit the league’s online home –

2013 Atlantic 10 Conference Men’s Tennis Championship Seeds
1. VCU
2. George Washington
3. Charlotte
4. Xavier
5. Duquesne
6. Temple
7. Richmond
8. Saint Joseph’s
9. Butler
10. Fordham
11. Saint Louis
12. Saint Bonaventure
13. Dayton
14. La Salle

About the Lindner Family Tennis Center
The Lindner Family Tennis Center is home to the USTA’s Western & Southern Financial Open, the largest professional summer tennis tournament in the nation outside of the US Open. The grounds are located approximately 20 miles north of Cincinnati and boast 16 hard surface, outdoor courts, including four permanent stadiums: Center Court (capacity: 11,435) and Grandstand Court (capacity: 5,000), along with the brand new Court #3 (capacity: 4,000), and Court #4 (capacity: 2,500). In August 2011, the Tennis Center completed a 5.4 acre expansion that included the addition of six new courts, a 2,750-square-foot enclosed ticket office, and a 10,000-square-foot entry plaza with nine gates. The new footprint of the Tennis Center spans 19.0 acres, up from 13.6 acres in 2010.

2012 George Washington
2011 George Washington
2010 Xavier
2009 Xavier
2008 Xavier
2007 Charlotte
2006 Richmond
2005 Richmond
2004 Richmond
2003 St. Bonaventure
2002 Richmond
2001 St. Bonaventure
2000 Virginia Tech
1999 Virginia Tech
1998 Virginia Tech
1997 Virginia Tech
1996 Virginia Tech
1995 Rutgers
1994 West Virginia
1993 West Virginia
1992 West Virginia
1991 West Virginia
1990 West Virginia
1989 West Virginia
1988 West Virginia
1987 West Virginia
1986 Penn State
1985 Temple
1984 West Virginia
1983 West Virginia
1981 West Virginia
1980 West Virginia
1979 George Washington
1978 Penn State

*Championship held in the fall from 1978-81; moved to the spring beginning with the 1983 Championship

It's On Us