Ticket Galaxy

Field Set for 34th Annual A-10 Men's Tennis Championship

Release: 04/10/2012
Print RSS

April 10, 2012


NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – Vying for its second title in program history, Charlotte is the top seed for the 34th annual Atlantic 10 Conference Men’s Tennis Championship, to be held April 13-15 at the Lindner Family Tennis Center in Mason, Ohio.

The 49ers, who faced four ranked opponents this season, are 14-7 overall and 4-0 against fellow A-10 competitors. Charlotte’s 14 wins are the most in a regular season since winning 17 in 2007, when the 49ers claimed their first and only conference title and NCAA Tournament appearance.

Three-time champion Xavier (2008-10), who fell to defending champion George Washington in last year’s finale, is seeded second, while Duquesne is seeded third.

Rounding out the 12-team field are Temple (fourth), George Washington (fifth), Richmond (sixth), Saint Joseph’s (seventh), Fordham (eighth), Saint Louis (ninth), Dayton (10th), St. Bonaventure (11th) and La Salle (12th).

Competition begins on Friday, April 13 at 8:00 am with the final match of the day set to start at 5:00 pm. On Saturday, April 14, the first semifinal match is slated for 11:00 am, while the second semifinal contest is set for 2:00 pm. The championship match will be played on Sunday, April 15 at 11:00 am.

The A-10 Men’s Tennis Championship is a single-elimination event. The winner of the Championship will receive the Conference’s automatic bid to compete in the NCAA Tournament. For more information on the Championship, including match results, recaps and photos, please visit the league’s online home –

2012 Atlantic 10 Conference Men’s Tennis Championship Seeds
1. Charlotte
2. Xavier
3. Duquesne
4. Temple
5. George Washington
6. Richmond
7. Saint Joseph’s
8. Fordham
9. Saint Louis
10. Dayton
11. St. Bonaventure
12. La Salle

About the Lindner Family Tennis Center
The Lindner Family Tennis Center is home to the USTA’s Western & Southern Financial Open, the largest professional summer tennis tournament in the nation outside of the US Open. The grounds are located approximately 20 miles north of Cincinnati and boast 16 hard surface, outdoor courts, including four permanent stadiums: Center Court (capacity: 11,435) and Grandstand Court (capacity: 5,000), along with the brand new Court #3 (capacity: 4,000), and Court #4 (capacity: 2,500). In August 2011, the Tennis Center completed a 5.4 acre expansion that included the addition of six new courts, a 2,750-square-foot enclosed ticket office, and a 10,000-square-foot entry plaza with nine gates. The new footprint of the Tennis Center spans 19.0 acres, up from 13.6 acres in 2010.

About the A-10
The Atlantic 10 Conference was formed in 1976, is currently comprised of 14 member institutions and sponsors 21 championship sports. The mission and goal of the Atlantic 10 is to preserve, protect, and enhance the academic and athletic pursuits of the membership. The conference is committed to integrity, educational excellence and providing quality equitable championship experiences for more than 6,000 student-athletes, coaches, and support staff. The member institutions of the Atlantic 10 are the University of Dayton, Duquesne University, Fordham University, The George Washington University, La Salle University, University of Massachusetts, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University of Rhode Island, University of Richmond, St. Bonaventure University, Saint Joseph's University, Saint Louis University, Temple University, and Xavier University.

Previous Champions*
2011 George Washington
2010 Xavier
2009 Xavier
2008 Xavier
2007 Charlotte
2006 Richmond
2005 Richmond
2004 Richmond
2003 St. Bonaventure
2002 Richmond
2001 St. Bonaventure
2000 Virginia Tech
1999 Virginia Tech
1998 Virginia Tech
1997 Virginia Tech
1996 Virginia Tech
1995 Rutgers
1994 West Virginia
1993 West Virginia
1992 West Virginia
1991 West Virginia
1990 West Virginia
1989 West Virginia
1988 West Virginia
1987 West Virginia
1986 Penn State
1985 Temple
1984 West Virginia
1983 West Virginia
1981 West Virginia
1980 West Virginia
1979 George Washington
1978 Penn State

*Championship held in the fall from 1978-81; moved to the spring beginning with the 1983 Championship

It's On Us