Ticket Galaxy

A-10 Announces Men's Tennis All-Conference Teams

Release: 04/26/2012
Print RSS
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

April 26, 2012


NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – George Washington swept the Atlantic 10 Conference men’s tennis year-end awards, as freshman Francisco Dias was named the league’s Most Outstanding Performer and Most Outstanding Rookie Performer, according to a vote of the league’s 12 head coaches. Colonials’ head coach Greg Munoz was also honored, as he was tabbed Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.

Dias posted an impressive 18-5 overall singles record this year, all at the No. 1 position. He was also 19-11 in doubles competition, including an 11-4 record on the No. 1 court. Dias was nationally ranked as high as No. 64 during the season and was 2-1 against his ranked counterparts. He will enter the NCAA Tournament having won nine of his last 10 matches. The Lisbon, Portugal import is the first A-10 men’s tennis student-athlete to claim both of the Conference’s top awards simultaneously.

Dias is the second GW men’s tennis player to be named the league’s Most Outstanding Performer, as former Colonial Matt Hane earned the award in 2002 and 2004. Dias also becomes the fifth student-athlete from George Washington to be named Most Outstanding Rookie Performer, joining teammate Ugur Atalay (2009), along with alums Yan Levinski (2008), Mustafa Gencsoy (2005) and Hane (2001).

Joining Dias on the All-Conference first-team are teammates Atalay and Alex van Gils; along with Charlotte’s Jack Williams and Kamil Khalil; Aram Abgaryan and Pete Carpenter of Duquesne; Fordham’s Kuba Kowalski; Ethan Dunbar of Richmond; Temple’s Filip Rams; and Xavier’s Mesa Mei and Jimmy Roebker.

The All-Conference second-team consists of Charlotte’s Alex Calott and Paul Cisti; Aidan Koross of Dayton; Fordham’s Srikar Alla and Mischa Koran; Ulrik Thomsen of George Washington; Richmond’s Sebastien Fauchet and Jesse Feder; Alex Veronis of Saint Joseph’s; Joe Flanagan of Saint Louis; Temple’s Kacper Rams; and Brandon MacDonald of Xavier.

Charlotte’s Anthony Davison and Duquesne’s Rich Robbie were also recognized as Honorable Mentions, while the Academic All-Conference team is comprised of Abgaryan, Atalay, MacDonald, Kacper Rams, Veronis and Dayton’s Joe West.

Now in his sixth season at George Washington, Munoz earns his second A-10 Coach of the Year citation after guiding the Colonials to the program’s second straight and third overall Atlantic 10 Championship crown. Under Munoz’s direction, the fifth-seeded Colonials won four straight matches at the 2012 event, including upset wins over the Nos. 1, 2 and 4 seeds, to capture the title and the league’s automatic bid to compete in the NCAA Tournament.

----- -----

It's On Us