Ticket Galaxy

Seeds Set for 29th Annual Women's Tennis Championship

Release: 04/17/2012
Print RSS

April 17, 2012


NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – Vying for the program’s second title, Massachusetts is the top seed for the 29th annual Atlantic 10 Conference Women’s Tennis Championship, to be held April 19-22 at the Boar’s Head Sports Club in Charlottesville, Va.

The Minutewomen, who captured the program’s only title in 2001, are riding a six match win streak and head into this week’s Championship with a 14-7 overall record. Under the direction of veteran head coach Judy Dixon, UMass went 5-1 against A-10 foes this season, including victories over Temple, Saint Joseph's, Duquesne, Rhode Island and Charlotte.

Alexandra Zinn, an All-Conference selection a year ago, looks to lead second-seeded Charlotte to its first crown in program history, while defending champion and third-seeded Richmond seeks its fourth consecutive crown and eighth in the last nine years.

Rounding out the 14-team field are Temple (fourth), Xavier (fifth), George Washington (sixth), Fordham (seventh), Rhode Island (eighth), Duquesne (ninth), Saint Louis (10th), Saint Joseph’s (11th), St. Bonaventure (12th), Dayton (13th) and La Salle (14th).

Competition begins on Thursday, April 19 at 9:00am, with the final match of the first round slated to start at 3:00pm. The top two seeds will receive a first-round bye and begin play in the quarterfinals on Friday, April 20 at 10:00am and 1:00pm, respectively. Semifinal action commences on Saturday, April 21 at 10:00am, while the championship finale is set for Sunday, April 22 at 10:00am.

The A-10 Women’s Tennis Championship now features a four-day, single-elimination format. The winner of the Championship will receive the Conference’s automatic bid to compete in the NCAA Tournament. For more information on the Championship, including match results, recaps and photos, visit the league’s online home –

2012 Atlantic 10 Conference Women’s Tennis Championship Seeds
1. Massachusetts
2. Charlotte
3. Richmond
4. Temple
5. Xavier
6. George Washington
7. Fordham
8. Rhode Island
9. Duquesne
10. Saint Louis
11. Saint Joseph’s
12. St. Bonaventure
13. Dayton
14. La Salle

All-Time Atlantic 10 Women's Tennis Champions Year - School
2011 - Richmond
2010 - Richmond
2009 - Richmond
2008 - Temple
2007 - Richmond
2006 - Richmond
2005 - Richmond
2004 - Richmond
2003 - Temple
2002 - Richmond
2001 - Massachusetts
2000 - Virginia Tech
1999 - Virginia Tech
1998 - Virginia Tech
1997 - Virginia Tech
1996 - Virginia Tech
1995 - Temple
1994 - Temple
1993 - George Washington
1992 - George Washington
1991 - Penn State
1990 - Penn State
1989 - Penn State
1987 - Penn State
1986 - Penn State
1985 - Penn State
1984 - George Washington
1983 - Penn State

About the A-10
The Atlantic 10 Conference was formed in 1976, is currently comprised of 14 member institutions and sponsors 21 championship sports. The mission and goal of the Atlantic 10 is to preserve, protect, and enhance the academic and athletic pursuits of the membership. The conference is committed to integrity, educational excellence and providing quality equitable championship experiences for more than 6,000 student-athletes, coaches, and support staff. The member institutions of the Atlantic 10 are the University of Dayton, Duquesne University, Fordham University, The George Washington University, La Salle University, University of Massachusetts, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University of Rhode Island, University of Richmond, St. Bonaventure University, Saint Joseph's University, Saint Louis University, Temple University, and Xavier University.

About Boar’s Head Sports Club
The Boar's Head Sports Club boasts 26 USTA regulation courts - 10 Outdoor Har-Tru courts that are maintained for seasonal play. Alongside the clay courts, are an additional four Outdoor DecoTurf hard courts for year-round competition. Inside, the Boar's Head features a massive 12 DecoTurf hard courts complex, which plays to the high standards of the ATP and NCAA and serves as the host site of top tournaments. In January 2006, the Boyd Tinsley Courts at the Boar's Head Sports Club were completed, including a six-court tennis stadium with the capacity to seat more than 1,200 spectators for tournaments and collegiate matches. The Boar's Head Sports Club has been the site of past ITA National Individual Indoor Championships and ITA Men's Mideast Regional Championships. The Boar's Head Inn, owned and operated by the UVa Foundation, is a staple of Tennis Magazine's annual "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" rankings.

----- -----

It's On Us