Dayton's Jason Ordway Promoted To Director of Track & Field/Cross Country

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

DAYTON –  University of Dayton Vice President/Director of Athletics Neil Sullivan has announced Jason Ordway will be the next Director of Women's Track and Field/Cross Country for the Flyers.

"Jason is an up-and-coming coach and he is a proven winner," said Sullivan. "He has experienced success in leading our men's cross country program and we are excited to have him bring his knowledge and energy to the women's track and field/cross country program at Dayton."

Ordway, the reigning Atlantic 10 Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year, has served as the head coach of the Flyer men's cross country program for the last two years. He will continue to coach the men's team.

"I consider it an honor and a privilege to be chosen to lead the women's track and field and cross country programs at the University of Dayton," said Ordway. "Throughout the past several years working with the men's cross country team, I have seen the women's program grow and improve thanks to the incredible hard work of both the staff and student-athletes.

"I hope to bring a fresh perspective and a clear vision to the program to build upon that success moving forward," added Ordway. "I look forward to this exciting new challenge. It is a very exciting time to be a Flyer."

The Flyers finished the year still as the most balanced women's running program in the conference, taking second place at the A-10 Cross Country Championship, third at the A-10 Indoor Track and Field Championships, and third at the A-10 Outdoor Track and Field Championships.

Taylor Vernot and Chloe Flora finished in the Top 15 at the 2016 A-10 Women's Cross Country Championship to earn all-conference honors. They posted the second and third-fastest times in Dayton history, respectively. Flora was named the A-10 Rookie of the year and the Ohio Freshman of the Year by the All-Ohio Coaches Association.

During the indoor season the Flyers recorded five Top 5 all-time marks: Erin Reese (weight throw and shot put), Jenni Rossi (weight throw), Grace McDonald (mile), and Vernot (3000m). Reese was named A-10 Most Outstanding Field Performer at the Indoor Championships and was named the Women's Field Performer of the Year at the Outdoor Championships.

The Flyers broke four records during the 2017 outdoor season: Reese holds the hammer throw (63.43m) and discus (50.87m) records. Rossi holds the shot put record (15.14m); and Lillian Cookholds the UD javelin record (47.84m). The Flyers also set 10 Top Five marks this outdoor season, and picked up seven A-10 weekly honors.

In addition, Dayton sent three student-athletes to the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field East Preliminary Round with Cook in the javelin, Reese in discus and hammer throw, and Rossi in the discus.

In just his second season in charge of the Flyers, Ordway earned Atlantic 10 Coach of the Year honors after leading UD to its first-ever men's cross country conference title. The A-10 championship was even more noteworthy considering it was the first conference title for a men's cross country-only program in NCAA history. Dayton had four all-conference performers in Hunter Johnston, Tyler Adgalanis, Spencer Danielson, and Chris Negri.

In his first year at the helm of the program in 2015, Ordway guided numerous student-athletes to career achievements. Academic All-American Hunter Johnston was the first All-Conference performer for Dayton since 2011 and the seventh to do so in program history. As a team, the Flyers earned USTFCCCA All-Academic honors and had a team GPA of 3.58, which ranked 10th in the nation. It is the 21st consecutive season that Dayton was recognized with this accolade.

Ordway, who was a volunteer assistant during the 2014 season, took over as head coach of the University of Dayton men's cross country program, on July 1, 2015. He followed Rich Davis, a Dayton Athletic Association Distance Running Hall of Fame member, who coached the Flyers for 18 seasons.

He was a four-year varsity letter winner in cross country, as well as indoor and outdoor track and field at Southern Illinois University from 2006-2010. He was the 2009 Missouri Valley Conference champion in the steeplechase and owns the eighth fastest time in school history. He earned All-MVC honors in the steeplechase for three consecutive years (2008, 2009, 2010), and was also an All-MVC performer in cross country in 2007 and 2008. In addition he was an NCAA Nationals Prelims Qualifier in the Steeplechase in 2010 and an NCAA Regional Qualifier in the Steeplechase in 2009.

He qualified for the 2012 Olympic Trials in the Marathon in Houston and debuted at 44th in the nation in the marathon while qualifying for the Olympic Trials.
He studied physiology with a minor in chemistry and a focus in pre-med at Southern Illinois. He graduated with his master's degree in exercise science from UD where he also served as a graduate teaching assistant from 2013-2015.

More From A-10 Track & Field