Pasteur, Hogan, MacKenzie, Hendrickson Win Major Atlantic 10 Baseball Awards

By Atlantic 10 Conference
Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference


ARLINGTON Va. — George Washington senior third baseman Isaiah Pasteur was named Atlantic 10 Conference Baseball Player of the Year, while Saint Louis junior pitcher Miller Hogan was selected at the league’s Pitcher of the Year. Fordham freshman second baseman Jake MacKenzie was voted A-10 Rookie of the Year and SLU skipper Darin Hendrickson was named Coach of the Year.


The awards, along with the All-Conference, All-Rookie and All-Academic Teams, were announced Tuesday to kick off the 2018 A-10 Baseball Championship at George Washington University’s Tucker Field at Barcroft Park.


Hendrickson, in his 11th year, led the Billikens to a 35-18 overall record and an A-10 regular season title with a 19-4 record in conference play. It’s the second Atlantic 10 Coach of the Year honor for Hendrickson, the other honor coming in 2012.


The A-10 leader in runs (54), hits (75), total bases (132) and triples (7), Pasteur, a Westminster, Md., native ranks amongst the top 50 in the NCAA for runs, runs per game, stolen bases, stolen bases per game, total bases and triples. He set the program record with a 32-game hitting streak during season, the third-longest streak in the NCAA this year.


Hogan tied the SLU record for strikeouts in a season with 120, a record that was set in 1965. He ranks eighth in the nation in strikeouts and fifth overall in strikeout-walk ratio (10.00). Hogan also ranks seventh in the country in WHIP (0.80) and 11th in overall victories (9). The Overland Park, Kan., native had 63 strikeouts and seven walks in league play and 120 strikeouts and 12 walks in all games.


A two-time Atlantic 10 Rookie of the Week, MacKenzie had a team-best 15 multi-hit games and 11 multi-RBI games. He ranks in the top 15 in the NCAA in triples (6) and stolen bases (34). A Wallingford, Conn., product, MacKenzie leads Fordham in most offensive categories, including runs (45), home runs (8), RBI (42), as well as triples and stolen bases.


The 12-member All-Conference First and Second Teams and the 12-member All-Rookie Team were selected by a vote of the 13 Atlantic 10 head coaches. The 13-member All-Academic team was chosen by the league’s baseball communications directors.


The 2018 Atlantic 10 Championship begins Wednesday at 10:00 am ET with four games and concludes Saturday with the league’s championship finals. Every game of the championship will be available for free digitally on the A-10 Network. The winner of the double-elimination tournament receives the Atlantic 10’s bid to the NCAA Regionals.

More From A-10 Baseball