Hailey, Jabir Headline Atlantic 10 Women's Basketball Awards

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

March 7, 2013

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – Charlotte senior forward Jennifer Hailey has been named the 2013 Atlantic 10 Women’s Basketball Player of the Year in voting conducted among the league's 16 head coaches.

The A-10 coaches also selected Jocelyn Floyd of Duquesne the league’s Defensive Player of the Year, Dayton's Amber Deane as the Rookie of the Year, UD’s Olivia Applewhite as Sixth Player of the Year and Erin Shields of Saint Joseph’s as the league's Most Improved Player. No. 11/11 Dayton’s Jim Jabir was honored by his peers as Coach of the Year.

Hailey enters this week’s Championship as the leading scorer and rebounder for the second-seeded 49ers with 15.9 points and 11.9 rebounds per game this season.   A native of Marshville, N.C. Hailey was named the A-10 Player of the Week on four different occasions and helped Charlotte to a second-place regular season finish in league play with a record of 13-1.    Hailey was second with 16.4 points per game during league contests and her 12.8 boards was tops in league play.   Hailey also had 74 blocks which was second-best in the A-10 and helped her earn a spot on the league’s All Defensive Team. 

Hailey is joined on the first-team by Andrea Hoover (Dayton), Chatilla van Grinsven (Saint Joseph's), Erin Rooney (Fordham) and Wumi Agunbiade (Duquesne).

The All-Conference second-team consists of Ally Malott (Dayton), Daress McClung (Butler), Marah Strickland (Fordham), Robyn Parks (VCU) and   Victoria Macaulay (Temple).

The third team is made up of Amanda Dowe (Charlotte), Amber Gray, (Xavier), Erin Shields (Saint Joseph's), Ny Hammonds (Charlotte) and Sam MacKay (Dayton).

A four-time Rookie of the Week, Deane currently averages 10.4 points and 5.0 rebounds each time out for UD.  Deane headlines an All-Rookie team with April Robinson (Duquesne), Jessica Pellechio (VCU), Kelley Austria (Dayton) and Samantha Clark (Fordham).

Floyd’s 133 steals leads the nation and is the fourth highest total for a single season in league history.   Floyd, Macaulay and Hailey are joined on the All-Defensive Team by Arielle Collins (Fordham) and Natasha Cloud (Saint Joseph's).

Applewhite came off the bench to average 7.5 points and 6.2 rebounds during her 16 minutes per game off the bench for the Flyers.  Against conference foes, Applewhite bettered her numbers, averaging 8.4 points and 7.0 rebounds in over 18 minutes of action. 

Jabir earns Coach of the Year accolades following a regular season in which he led Dayton to a 26-1 overall record and a 14-0 A-10 mark.  The Flyers earned their first A-10 regular season championship and will look to repeat after winning their first A-10 tournament championship last season.   Dayton is currently ranked No. 11 in the Nation in both the Associated Press and Coaches polls.

Shields earns Most Improved Player after going from five games started as a sophomore to starting 27 starts this season.   She has knocked down 66 three-pointers this season, 28 better than last year. 

The A-10 will play its 2013 Women's Basketball Championship game at the new state-of-the-art Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y. The women's championship finale will be conducted in conjunction with the men's semifinal contests on Saturday, March 16 and will be televised live on ESPNU, while the first three rounds will once again be held at Michael J. Hagan `85 Arena on the campus of Saint Joseph's University in Philadelphia, March 8-10.  Both semifinal games on March 10 will be televised live on CBS Sports Network.

Click Here for the 2013 Atlantic 10 Women's Basketball All-Conference Teams

More From A-10 Women's Basketball