Ticket Galaxy

Hawks Outlast Wildcats, 10-7, to Earn Spot in A-10 Semifinals

Release: 05/05/2016
Print RSS


PITTSBURGH, Pa. - The fourth-seeded Saint Joseph's Hawks (9-9) netted goals from five different players to earn a 10-7 quarterfinal victory against the fifth-seeded Davidson Wildcats (8-9) Thursday at Duquesne's Rooney Field. 

With the win, the Hawks will face top-seeded Minutewomen in Friday's second semifinal, beginning at approximately 3:30 pm. 

The Hawks got on the board early with three straight goals from Rebecca Lane, Mallory Grey and Sarah Smith. With the 3-0 advantage, the game was stopped for approximately 30 minutes, due to lightning in the area.

When play resumed, Nora McCallion added a score for Saint Joseph's, before Davidon's Lucy Sexton scored the first goal of the game for the 'Cats, assisted by Annie Brockett. McCallion and Lane would each net a goal for SJU, while Brockett would find the back of the net for her first of the game. The Hawks took a 6-2 lead in to the break, outshooting the 'Cats, 14-9 in the first period.

Coming out of the half, Davidson cut the deficit to two, getting goals from Brockett and Sexton. The Hawks continued to keep the score just out of reach, answering back after each Davidson goal.

With five minutes remaining, Grey would add her third goal of the game, followed by Hayley Sabol's score with less than a minute, to give the Hawks a four-goal lead. After a penalty, the 'Cats scored a final goal with the one-woman advantage as the final seconds ran off the clock.

In the second half, Davidson outshot the Hawks, 17-10, but Genevieve Giblin made eight crucial stops, including five in the second frame, to keep the advantage in the Hawks' favor. Davidson's Rose Woolson made six saves in goal. 

A-10 Rookie of the Year, Rebecca Lane, scored three goals and added two assists, for a game-high five points, while Grey chipped in three goals and an assist for four points.

In an earlier meeting this spring, Massachusetts defeated Saint Joseph's, 15-5, on Apr. 1. The Minutewomen have won the last seven Atlantic 10 Championship titles.




It's On Us