Massachusetts Earns Regular Season Title and Top Seed in 2019 Championship

By Atlantic 10 Conference

Related Links

Courtesy: Atlantic 10 Conference

Newport News, Va. -- The Massachusetts Minutewomen are the top seed of the 2019 Atlantic 10 Women’s Lacrosse Championship for the ninth consecutive year after being crowned regular season champions with a perfect conference record of 9-0.

UMass (14-3 overall) is followed in the standings by No. 2 George Mason (7-2 A-10, 11-6 overall), third-seeded Richmond (7-2 A-10, 14-3 overall), No. 4 Saint Joseph’s (6-3 A-10, 10-7 overall), No. 5 VCU (4-5 A-10, 8-9 overall), and sixth-seeded Duquesne (4-5 A-10, 9-7 overall).

The Minutewomen are coming off a perfect season and look to reclaim the A-10 championship title after suffering their first loss since 2009 in a dramatic overtime loss to Richmond in 2018. This year’s team is led by the top conference goal scorer, Kiley Anderson (56) and the second-highest point scorer, Kaitlyn Cerasi (72). Defensively, UMass is led by Courtney Barrett (27 ground balls, 16 caused turnovers), Ally Murphy (33 ground balls, 12 caused turnovers) and goalkeeper Lauren Hill, who has the fewest goals allowed (83) in the A-10.

For the second seed, George Mason won the head-to-head tiebreaker against Richmond with their regular-season victory over the Spiders. Mason is led by freshman Deanna Balsama, six-time Rookie of the Week and third-highest goal scorer in the A-10 this year (48). Balsama is joined on the leaderboard by Erin Donoghue (30 goals, 6 Assists) and Chachi Kelehan (35 goals, 17 assists). Defensively, the Patriots are led by sophomore Natalya Moody with 30 ground balls and 19 caused turnovers, and junior goal-keeper Melissa Semkiw.

Richmond took the third seed with a Friday win over Saint Joseph’s, while the loss put the Hawks in the fourth spot.

VCU, with a victory over George Mason on Saturday, took the fifth seed in a head-to-head tiebreaker with Duquesne, who sits in the final spot after a victory over La Salle.

The 2019 Championship will begin on Thursday, April 25 with the first quarterfinal game between No. 4 Saint Joseph’s and No. 5 VCU at 1:00 pm and the second game between No. 3 Richmond and No. 6 Duquesne at 4:00 pm.

All five games of the 2019 A-10 Women’s Lacrosse Championship, which will be played at George Mason Stadium in Fairfax, Va., will be streamed on ESPN+. For watch links, ticket info, and all other coverage of the championship, go to The Women’s Lacrosse championship page at

More From A-10 Women's Lacrosse